The transverse flute


in the era of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
A conversation with the baroque musician Johanna Bartz
Johanna Bartz ©Philipp von Recklinghausen

Johanna Bartz was born in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in 1986, and in her youth already showed a fondness for historical instruments. In Berlin she first of all studied the transverse flute and instrumental pedagogy under Professor Annette von Stackelberg. Owing to her enthusiasm for baroque music she decided to do an additional course of study with the transverse flute, first under Christoph Huntgeburth at the UdK Berlin and Barthold Kuijken at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels, and then under Marc Hantai and Anne Smith at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (Switzerland), where she completed her Master's Degree in 2015. Johanna Bartz gives regular concerts both in Germany and abroad.

The baroque transverse flute is made of wood, has four parts, a mouthpiece and six finger holes, and only one key at its foot. It has a unique, particularly warm and soft sound, which differentiates it from the modern Boehm flute. The fingering and blowing techniques are also different and represent a challenge even to accomplished flute players.

Johanna, what's the attraction of baroque music and what particularly fascinates you about C.P.E. Bach?
The music that we simply call "baroque" nowadays is actually a great variety of styles and musical forms that arose between roughly 1600 and 1760. The most important common element of the various styles, and the foundation of most compositions, is the use of basso continuo, or continuous bass.
C.P.E. Bach comes fairly close to the end of the "basso continuo era", and through his "sensitive style" developed his own language. On the one hand there's a connection to the musical inheritance of his father, whose expressiveness in harmony and melodic form he extends to new horizons, but at the same time he experiments with the forms and expressive possibilities of his own generation.
During his own lifetime he was, in a way, more "popular" than his father Johann Sebastian Bach, though he was also criticised by his contemporaries. While some valued his inventiveness and originality, others condemned his music as mannered and hard to comprehend.
What especially fascinates me about C.P.E. Bach is this originality, the fact that he developed a totally individual idiom. Of course it also depends on which phase of his life we're dealing with, and for what purpose he composed. The chamber music featuring the flute is often incredibly dense and very expressive. However, there's also a very late flute sonata by him, composed in 1786 for the blind musician Friedrich Ludwig Dülon, and this music has a totally different spirit, airy and light and full of playful virtuosity.

How do the tensions of "Hierarchy - courtly gallantry - enlightenment" find expression in the music of the 18th Century?
In the 18th Century the old feudal structures still exist, although the bourgeoisie is gaining in strength all the time. The social developments occur very gradually (up to the point of the French Revolution), and we end up with cases like Friedrich II, who can be regarded as an enlightened monarch. In the field of music this process is perhaps best reflected in the fact that musical language is still strongly inspired by classical rhetoric with its system of codification, which functions along the lines of courtly gallantry: this gesture means this, that glance refers to that… However what can't be restrained is the ever-growing tendency towards a more "natural" style of composition.

What kind of relationship does your public have to baroque music?
It really varies: sometimes I play to people who've never been to a concert in their lives before, at other times to a public of connoisseurs, and sometimes to my own colleagues. Each occasion represents a different challenge. The exciting thing is that regardless of whether people "understand" the rhetoric of the music in an intellectual sense, or have a more intuitive response to it, they are always moved – as long as the musician is capable of playing the music well enough...

What's unique about the baroque transverse flute? To what degree does it differ from the modern concert flute?
What's special is that every tone has a different colour or shading to it, and on the whole the sound is more flexible. Compared to the modern flute, different techniques are required: naturally the playing feel is totally different due to the absence of the key mechanism, and so the way you grip it is also different. There are quite a lot of historical sources and instruction materials that have survived, and from these we can conclude that at the time other syllables were used for articulation and, as far as we can work out, the ideal sound was different.

You have a special connection to C.P.E. Bach, the son of Johann Sebastian Bach. How did you and your ensemble mark his anniversary in 2014?
For the birthday of C. P. E. Bach we put together a beautiful musical portrait: some of his own music, including two divertimenti which were only re-discovered in the 20th Century, plus works from his musical environment, for example from his godfather G. Ph. Telemann.

The interview was conducted by Dr. Alexandra Kankeleit.

Further information can be found at:
johannabartz.com
dianthusensemble.de
hellostage.com

Concert Program C.P.E. Bach PDF: 350 KB
Hans-Günter Ottenberg about C.P.E. Bach PDF: 2.800 KB

Die Traversflöte


in der Zeit von Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
Ein Gespräch mit der Barockmusikerin Johanna Bartz
Johanna Bartz ©Philipp von Recklinghausen

Johanna Bartz, 1986 in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern geboren, hatte schon als Jugendliche ein Faible für historische Instrumente. In Berlin studierte sie zunächst Querflöte und Instrumentalpädagogik bei Prof. Annette von Stackelberg. Aufgrund ihrer Begeisterung für die Musik des Barocks entschied sie sich für ein zusätzliches Studium der Traversflöte, zunächst bei Christoph Huntgeburth an der UdK Berlin und Barthold Kuijken am Königlichen Konservatorium in Brüssel, anschliessend bei Marc Hantai und Anne Smith an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (Schweiz), wo sie 2015 ihren Master abgeschlossen hat. Johanna Bartz gibt regelmäßig Konzerte im In- und Ausland.

Die barocke Traversflöte besteht aus Holz, ist drei- oder vierteilig, hat ein Anblasloch und sechs Grifflöcher und ist mit nur einer Klappe am Fußstück versehen. Sie hat einen eigenwilligen, besonders warmen und weichen Klang, der sie von der modernen Querflöte unterscheidet. Auch Griffe und Blastechnik sind anders und stellen selbst für versierte Querflötenspieler eine Herausforderung dar.

Johanna, was ist das Besondere an der Barockmusik und was fasziniert Dich insbesondere an C.P.E. Bach?
Das, was wir heute so einfach als "Barockmusik" bezeichnen, ist ja eigentlich eine sehr große Vielfalt an Stilen und musikalischen Formen, die etwa zwischen 1600 und 1760 entstanden sind. Die wichtigste musikalische Gemeinsamkeit dieser Stile und das Fundament der meisten Kompositionen ist die Verwendung des Generalbasses.
C.P.E. Bach steht schon ziemlich am Ende der "Generalbasszeit" und hat mit seiner "Empfindsamkeit" eine eigene Sprache entwickelt. Einerseits verbindet er das musikalische Erbe seines Vaters, dessen Expressivität in Harmonik und melodischer Gestaltung er noch einmal zu ganz neuen Ufern führt, anderseits spielt er mit den damals modernen Formen und Ausdrucksmitteln seiner Generation.
Zu seinen Lebzeiten war er gewissermaßen "populärer" als sein Vater Johann Sebastian Bach, wurde von seinen Zeitgenossen aber auch kritisiert. Während die einen seinen musikalischen Erfindungsreichtum und seine Originalität schätzten, verurteilten andere seine Musik als gekünstelt und schwer verständlich.
An C.P.E. Bach fasziniert mich insbesondere diese Originalität, dass er eben eine völlig eigene Ideomatik entwickelt hat. Natürlich kommt es auch darauf an, für welchen Zweck und in welcher Phase seines Lebens er komponiert hat. Die Kammermusik, in der die Flöte vorkommt, ist oft unglaublich dicht und sehr expressiv. Es gibt aber auch eine sehr späte Flötensonate von ihm, die er erst 1786 für den blinden Musiker Friedrich Ludwig Dülon komponiert hat, diese Musik erklingt schon wieder in einem ganz neuen Geist, luftig, leicht und mit sehr verspielter Virtuosität.

Wie drückt sich das Spannungsfeld "Hierarchie – Höfische Galanterie – Aufklärung" in der Musik des 18. Jahrhunderts aus?
Im 18. Jahrhundert existieren noch die alten feudalistischen Strukturen, allerdings erstarkt das Bürgertum immer mehr. Aber die gesellschaftlichen Prozesse verlaufen (bis zur Französischen Revolution) natürlich schleichend, so gab es ja, wie am prominenten Beispiel Friedrichs II., auch den aufgeklärten Monarchen. In der Musik spiegeln sich diese Prozesse vielleicht am ehesten darin, dass die Musiksprache noch stark an die klassische Rhetorik angelehnt mit Codifizierungen funktioniert, ähnlich wie die höfische Galanterie: Diese Geste bedeutet dieses, dieser Blick deutet auf jenes hin… Nicht aufzuhalten sind jedoch die mit der Zeit immer stärker werdenden Tendenzen hin zu einer "natürlicheren" Kompositionsweise.

Welche Beziehung hat Dein Publikum zur Barockmusik?
Das ist ganz unterschiedlich: Manchmal spiele ich vor Menschen, die noch nie in ihrem Leben ein Konzert besucht haben, manchmal ist es ein Publikum aus Kennern und manchmal eben auch die eigenen Kollegen. Jedes Mal ist es eine andere Art von Herausforderung.
Spannend finde ich, dass, egal, ob die Leute intellektuell etwas von der Rhetorik der Musik "verstehen" oder sie eher intuitiv aufnehmen, sie doch immer berührt sind – vorausgesetzt, der Musiker vermag es so zu spielen, dass sein Publikum berührt wird...

Was ist das Besondere an der Traversflöte? Inwieweit unterscheidet sich ihr Spiel von der modernen Querflöte?
Besonders ist, dass jeder Ton eine andere Farbe hat und der Klang insgesamt flexibler und biegsamer ist. Es werden andere Spieltechniken als bei der modernen Flöte verlangt: Natürlich ist das Spielgefühl schon allein durch die fehlende Klappenmechanik ein völlig anderes, und die Griffe unterscheiden sich dadurch auch. Es sind ziemlich viele historische Quellen, also Lehrwerke, erhalten geblieben, aus denen wir auch entnehmen können, dass man damals andere Silben zum Artikulieren genutzt hat, und auch das Klangideal war, soweit wir es rekonstruieren können, ein anderes.

Du hast einen besonderen Bezug zu C.P.E. Bach, dem Sohn von Johann Sebastian Bach. Wie hast Du Dich 2014 mit Deinem Ensemble auf sein Jubiläum vorbereitet?
Wir haben ein sehr schönes musikalisches Portrait zum Geburtstag von C.P.E. Bach zusammengestellt: mit Musik von ihm selbst, u.a. zwei erst im 20. Jahrhundert wieder gefundenen Divertimenti, und Werken aus seinem musikalischen Umfeld, beispielsweise von seinem Patenonkel G.Ph. Telemann.

Das Gespräch führte Dr. Alexandra Kankeleit.

Weitere Informationen:
johannabartz.com
dianthusensemble.de
hellostage.com

Konzertprogramm zu C.P.E. Bach PDF: 350 KB
Publikation von Hans-Günter Ottenberg zu C.P.E. Bach PDF: 2.800 KB